Nomination Criteria

Bishop Robert Smith Award

Nominations are accepted from members of the faculty and staff. The award winners are selected by a committee comprised of the Provost, the Executive Vice President for Student Affairs and former award winners.

Nomination Criteria:

  • Submit the nomination form and at least two letters of support to the Office of the Dean of Students. The nominator may write one of the letters of support.
  • Please describe, as specifically as possible, the nominee’s leadership roles in collegiate, cocurricular and extra-curricular activities from time of enrollment to the present. Indicate experiences such as officer positions, captain or other leadership roles on an athletic team, club/organization launch, creative projects, peer educator, campus initiative, etc. List ALL participation and leadership positions by year of service, for example, Student Government Association – Senator, 2013-2014; President, 2014-2015.
  • Describe any academic honors or achievements (e.g., scholarships, departmental honors, Phi Kappa Phi, Omicron Delta Kappa, etc.). See the College of Charleston Undergraduate Catalog for reference.

Theodore S. Stern Cup  

Nominations are accepted from members of the faculty and staff. The award winner is selected by a committee comprised of the Director of Student Life, Vice President of College Events/Secretary to the Board of Trustees, and a second director within the Division of Student Affairs. The recipient of the Ted Stern Cup Award is announced at the Student Activism and Leadership Achievement Awards Ceremony. 

Nomination Criteria:

I. Nominee’s major. II. Describe any honors or achievements received. III. Please describe, as specifically as possible, how the nominee has served the interests and ideals of the College and who by character and influence has best exemplified the ideals and qualities of Theodore S. Stern in the College and in the community.

Who was Ted Stern?

Dr. Ted Stern, (1912-2013) was the sixteenth president of the College of Charleston.  When he arrived on campus in 1968, thre were 432 students enrolled. During his ten-year administration, the future of the College was insured through the construction of new facilities (including the Robert Scott Small Library and the Stern Student Center), the enrollment of minority and international students, and recruitment of skilled and accredited faculty and staff.  He also transitioned the College from a private to state institution.  In addition to his role as President of the College, Dr. Stern helped found the Coastal Community Foundation in 1974 and served as the Chairman of the Board of the Spoleto Festival from 1977 to 1985.  The Ted Stern Cup, one of the three highest awards given to graduating students who have served the campus community, is named in his honor.

Alexander Chambliss Connelley Award

The award is presented to the student of the senior class who has made the most unselfish contribution(s) to the student body and the College of Charleston.  It is awarded to a student of the graduating class for special achievement. Nominations will be accepted from the student body, faculty, and staff.  The recipient will receive a cash award and a plaque.