CofC Logo

Office of the Dean of Students Awards

Office of the Dean of Students Awards

Three Awards are presented by the Office of the Dean of Students:

  • Bishop Robert Smith Award
  • Theodore Stern Cup 
  • Alexander Chambliss Connelley Award

Award Recipients 

Bishop Robert Smith Award 

This is the highest and most selective honor a graduating student can achieve at the College of Charleston. The Bishop Robert Smith Award was established by former President Theodore Stern to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional leadership and academic excellence. The award recipients receive a plaque, a monetary award and recognition during the graduation ceremony. 

Theodore S. Stern Cup Award 

The Theodore S. Stern Cup Award honors a member of the Senior Class of the College of Charleston who has most faithfully served the interests and ideals of the College and who by character and influence has best exemplified the ideals and qualities of President Theodore S. Stern, both in the College and the community. The Theodore S. Stern Cup Award recipients receive a Silver Cup and a monetary award. 

Who was Ted Stern?

Dr. Ted Stern, (1912-2013) was the sixteenth president of the College of Charleston.  When he arrived on campus in 1968, thre were 432 students enrolled. During his ten-year administration, the future of the College was insured through the construction of new facilities (including the Robert Scott Small Library and the Stern Student Center), the enrollment of minority and international students, and recruitment of skilled and accredited faculty and staff.  He also transitioned the College from a private to state institution.  In addition to his role as President of the College, Dr. Stern helped found the Coastal Community Foundation in 1974 and served as the Chairman of the Board of the Spoleto Festival from 1977 to 1985.  

Alexander Chambliss Connelley Award

The award is presented to the student of the senior class who has made the most unselfish contribution(s) to the student body and the College of Charleston.  It is awarded to a student of the graduating class for special achievement. Nominations will be accepted from the student body, faculty, and staff.  The recipient will receive a cash award and a plaque. 

Nomination Criteria for these awards