CofC Logo

Awards, Accomplishments and Recognition

Award Programs 2019


The 2019 ExCEL Awards ceremony was held Wednesday, March 27, 2019 in the Stern Ballroom. 
Recipients of the awards will be revealed at the ExCEL Awards Ceremony. 
A reception in Stern 205 followed the program.

Please visit the list of winners:

The College Today article:

SALA is now SAIL

The former SALA Awards program is now part of the new the SAIL Awards program (Student Achievement, Involvement & Leadership Awards) that includes the highest awards for exceptional student leadership through the Division of Student Affairs, Residence Life, Campus Recreation, Higdon Center for Student Leadership & Fraternity & Sorority Life, and Student Life.  The Student Achievement, Involvement and Leadership (S.A.I.L.) Awards, formerly the SALA awards, was held on Wednesday, April 10.  Special thanks to planning committee of Michael Duncan, Joy Heinzman, Jill Caldwell, Diane Cumbie, and Deronda Washington.  Also a special thank you to Dr. Dave Aurich for serving as the Master of Ceremonies.  Congratulations to all award nominees and recipients.    

Salute to Student Affairs

A Salute to Student Affairs is on Thursday, May 16, 2019 at 3 p.m. (Location TBD). This annual gathering of the entire Division is an opportunity to recognize and show appreciation to all of our staff for their dedication to the College of Charleston community throughout the year. Award nominations and data form responses are now closed as of 5:00 p.m. on Friday, April 12th, 2019. More information...

Faces to Know at CofC

Freddie Lipata is featured in the CofC Faces to Know on December 12, 2018

You will be pleasantly surprised in what you find out about Freddie's background in The College TODAY

Freddie Lipata

Rochelle Johnson of Multicultural Student Programs and Services is the Face To Know  November 27, 2018.

Read more about this very interesting Associate Director in the Office for Multicultural Student Programs and Services (MSPS), in the College of Charleston The College Today article.

Rochelle Johnson

Ongoing Award Program

Past Award Events 

    • 2018 Deronda Washington, Fraternity & Sorority Life and Joe Vallee, Residence Life 
    • 2017 Elizabeth Dixon, Counseling and Substance Abuse Services and Celeste Granger, Residence Life
    • 2016 and 2015 2015 Outstanding Service Award Rachael McNamara – Counseling and Substance Abuse Services

2018 Temporary Staff Member of the Year Award Recipient Deronda Washington

Deronda Washington

2018 Permanent Staff Member Award Recipient Joe Vallee

Joe Vallee